Meditation for Rest & Clarity

Meditation has been a source of relaxation and reflection for me. At first it seemed unnatural and a little kooky.

I have been sold on it for about a month or so. It’s all gravy as soon as I am able to relax my forehead and crown of the head.

After I did my nightly yoga, I laid down right smack down in the middle of the living room floor and melted into a guided meditation.

Within minutes my body was in full relaxation and I gently feel asleep.

I choose this routine now instead of my nightly television watching session. Now, don’t get me wrong — I have some shows I am obsessed with and I will not miss once they come back on, but watching t.v. as relaxation for no good reason is just not working out for me.

Instead, I am relaxed. My mind is calm. My body is getting flexible and tone. I sleep better and have more clarity.

These positives can’t be found in mindless television.

When I lived on my own a few years ago, I didn’t have cable or Netflix. My antenna picked up the local news and that was all. My time was spent exercising, yoga, reading, and creating.

Somewhere along the way after marriage, television sucked me back in. Perhaps because my husband and I watch together once the children are asleep.

I miss the peace, though. This is why my yoga and meditation are welcomed back into my life.

It’s doing my body and soul some good and for that I am thankful!

Leave a Reply

