Update: Caveman Regimine & Natural Hair Products

Alabama muggy heat and thick rain thank you. Thank you for allowing me to experiment with the Caveman Regimen skincare and natural shampoo and conditioner guilt-free! I am guiltless because regardless of what I want to do with my skin and hair: Mother Nature will win.

I want to report on my transition:

It has been hard and it has only been 3 days. It’s difficult because I love the bubbly suds of shampoo and the dried-out feeling of squeaky clean. The natural products do not lather. Nope. It feels like it doesn’t rinse out. Then there is the natural oil. This greasiness is not easy for me to handle. However, I am pushing through because it is reported that once your hair transitions and oils balance out, there should not be any issues. I sure hope this is the case because right now I feel fuuuunky. I’m using Burt’s Bees Pomegranate Very Volumizing products. While the smell is delicious, the grease is not.

I’m also using a homemade “hairspray” to give myself a little texture. The ingredients:

  • 1 cup of hot water
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 10 drops lemon essential oil

It actually works really well. It doesn’t take much and doesn’t attract bugs 🙂 Thank goodness.

My hair is up in a bun and I tell myself that I can actually survive this. It’s not that big of a deal and my hair will be happier once it balances and will not be so dry that it breaks off at the root like it has been doing. It’s up in a bun on the top of my head and so what that today I have to take my driver’s license picture? The hilarity is that I would do a self-conscious experiment when I have to get my DL picture taken, but the reality is that no one asks to see my license anymore since I look over the age of 21. Ahhh, 30’s how I love you so.

The next thing I am doing is the Caveman Regimen. I am only washing my face with water. Also, I am not using makeup (foundation, powder, bronzer, or concealer). Now, the day after I started the experiment, my face was super-oily. Yep-I felt gross especially since my hair and face were oily, but it was so hot outside and the weekend of slumming so I really didn’t care.

My face is not oily today and I am on the 3rd day. You can tell in the picture that a lot of my redness is gone and blemishes are starting to even out. Yay!

unnamed

For that I am so grateful and it is inspiring me to continue my natural product experiment. I can’t wait to see the difference this makes in the next few weeks!

*sidenote: I said I wasn’t going to use a hair dryer or straightener on my hair. I caved on Saturday because I was so greasy and nasty feeling that I had to do something. Hopefully soon I can rock some natural curls and be on my merry un-greasy, healthy happy way! Until then, gonna do what I have to do.

Leave a Reply

