Personal Branding : Guide

personalbranding

Personal branding is an important component to ensuring we are living to our true potential and that our values and actions are aligned to our authentic selves.

The chaos of life sometimes leaves us disconnected to our true self. This doesn’t mean that in the midst we should forget who we are and what we stand for.

When we are in constant swirl and fight with the life we have built around us, we can become tired, irritated, and overwhelmed.

I have learned to center myself and be true to my personal brand in the midst of my wild journey. It makes it easy to adjust and come back to my “brand” when I have clearly defined myself.

Building a personal brand doesn’t take sweat and tears. It is a simple exercise that can be done in just a few simple steps.

  • Mission Statement. Do you have one? I went years without one, and finally sat down for a few moments and defined my personal mission statement. Not only is it important for successful businesses to have a mission statement, it is vital for individuals to have one as well. My personal mission statement:

I am love and compassion. I seek to find a healthy balance between my mental, emotional, and spiritual well-being. It is important for me to live a passionate, simple, and impactful existence. My intention is to grow independently and adjust to change with flexibility and grace. My character will reflect my true values of honesty, integrity, joy, and empathy. With God as my guiding compass, I will conquer, maintain, and establish consistent harmony between my heart and outside influences.

  • Define values. We get off balance when our actions do not match our intentions. For us to become whole and happy we must ensure that we are acting out our values every, single day. My values:

Honesty, integrity, compassion, love, empathy, understanding, grace, mercy, simple-living, living within my means, service, & punctuality.

  • Know yourself. If you have been disconnected from your authentic core, whether it is due to your career, becoming a parent, giving more than receiving in a marriage, mismanagement of time, unhealthy addictions, comparisons to others, etc. you may feel like you don’t even know who you are anymore. We can’t take care and love others to our potential if we do not love ourselves. My authentic self:

I need to show love and to feel loved from my family. I like having alone time and sometimes get irritated if I am not able to get away sometimes. My unique personality sometimes does not align with what other’s believe, and that’s ok. Doing my absolute best in every aspect of my life is priority, and although I haven’t always given myself grace, I now know that failure is OK. I aim to do my best, and if it isn’t good enough, I let it go. Relaxing in pj’s and wasting time that I enjoy does not make me feel guilty. Time enjoyed wasting is not wasted time. It’s important that I eat as healthy as possible to fuel my body and keep in check. Although I don’t exercise as much as I used to, I am a busy person. I am raising my daughter with my whole heart and soul. I consider chasing her around and playing toys to be enough exercise to take down the largest beast! My way isn’t always the right way, but I sure do like to think it is. I am open to change and growth and have learned to ride the waves of life and consider it a precious journey. When my values and actions align themselves, I am most happy. I need sunshine, freedom, and a chance to try. My passions are important to me, and I make the necessary time to fulfill them. When I don’t, I feel disconnected.

  • Action. Your personal brand should reflect your inner self. Know some solutions {come up with them if you haven’t already!} to make certain that your life aligns with who you are.

Punctuality – Leave 10 minutes early instead of rushing around to arrive on time.

Honesty – Don’t do anything I have to lie about in the first place! Honesty is always best. Lies have to be kept up with, maintained, stored, and changed. Being honest builds credibility and releases me from the confinement of lies.

Compassion – People aren’t perfect. I am not, so I don’t expect others to be either. My personal bubble will not keep me from showing others compassion. The world doesn’t revolve around me all the time.

Love – See above. A life without loving is no life at all.

Grace – I am a living, thriving, changing organism. Failure is a part of life, but so is success! I aim to learn from my mistakes and do bigger and better the next time.

Simple Living – I will live between my means. My budget is to be followed and I will use creativity to use what I have first before purchasing. I will use a simple life to focus on the most important people and experience, not waste it on material possessions.

Your personal brand is important. Living your mission statement may not always be easy. However, if you know who you are at the core, you can better live out your mission. I know that I am way off balance when my brand and actions aren’t aligned. Now that I have defined who I am, have solutions to issues, and ideas on how to better live out my values, my brand will be easier to follow.

When other’s talk about me, I want them to say…

Hey, I know her! She is loving, honest, reliable, compassionate, full of grace, easy to be around, relaxed, and fun!

I don’t want them to attach me to my things. Who cares what car I drive if I am an irritable, old bat?

If you are interested in doing a one-on-one with yourself and defining who you are and coming up with an action plan, these few steps will help get the ball rolling.

2 thoughts on “Personal Branding : Guide

  1. Hi! You literally took the words straight from my thoughts with this post. I was recently pondering a similar discussion on the importance of many of these qualities.

    “A Life without love, is no life at all.” I absolutely love that quote and say it often, because it is utterly true! I learned it from one of my favorite movies–Ever After: A Cinderella Story starring Drew Barrymore.

    Thanks for this great encouraging post!

    Like

    1. I am so glad you found encouragement here! I am constantly reminding myself of my core values to try and keep on track. That is such a cute movie, isn’t it?! Love is all we have at the end of the day. Many blessings to you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

