My Minimalist Wardrobe

closet..WARDROBE

If you have found yourself cussing and snatching clothes out of an over-stuffed closet, then it may be time to evaluate your wardrobe situation. I have seriously spent decades angry at my clothes and closet. No matter how many baskets, bins, or folding tricks I have tried, it has never solved my problem. Pinterest has some really inspiring closets to lust after. Looking at those beautiful closets, and then looking at my sad, overflowing, disorganized disaster, I have decided to take matters into my own hands.

It’s easy to suffocate & drown in materialism and excess. The truth is that at some point it will completely swallow us whole. The weight of our stuff is heavy. It makes us busy washing, dusting, organizing, folding, putting up, moving, removing, and adding. The energy it takes to maintain our things is intense.

Since I have quit my job as a stuff manager, I feel lighter. I can think clearer.

How wonderful it is to have extra time to pursue passion instead of wasting time on stuff!

You may feel scared and not ready to ditch everything and become a minimalist. That is totally fine. Minimalism isn’t a destination, it is a journey. Simplifying is a process. Just think, we have spent so many years acquiring and gaining, it doesn’t just go away overnight. My suggestion is to ease into it. There is no “right” way to be a minimalist. You get to make your definition and do things the way you want.

I have written a few helpful posts on the benefits of a minimal wardrobe.

Here are a few suggestions on how to make subtle changes that will make a major impact:

  1. Simply start: There is no need to just start throw everything away if you don’t want to. We have attachment, memories, and fear linked to our belongings. Try to just get rid of one item in your closet that you haven’t worn in over 6 months. You will be surprised at how liberating and addicting de-cluttering is! Once you ditch that one old, stinky, ill-fitting shirt, you have started the first step to freedom. Keep going if you feel inspired.
  2. Two baskets: This is the angle I took. I grabbed two woven baskets and filled them with clothes that I intend to wear. This included a few pairs of pants, 3 t-shirts, 2 sweat shirts, solid tanks, cardigans, and several printed tops. My mission it to rock these items like no other!
  3. Focus on yourself: I’m talking about realizing that you are not your possessions or your clothes. If you are considering simplifying your wardrobe, be kind to yourself. Take a long bath, walk outside, start writing that blog, and relax.
  4. Set yourself up to win: Choose clothing that you love. Use items that coordinate with other items. Think about multi-purposed items. Dig out old accessories and use them!
  5. Be gentle with yourself: It’s a process to detach. Sometimes you may feel like getting back into your old ways, and that’s totally normal. Gently bring yourself back to your mission and remind yourself why you are simplifying. Stick with your plan.

The new minimalist closet is not an end-all and be-all in life. However, you will notice a strange detachment from your old ways after a while. Enjoy less laundry, more time to do what you want, better feelings, more smiles.

Use this time to experiment with your wardrobe. Pick and shift items until you get it right. You can’t fail at this. It is your clothes. You will realize that other’s really aren’t paying as much attention as you think.

I have worn the same t-shirt and yoga pants in the evening before bed for 4 nights in a row now. My husband hasn’t even noticed. Or, he has and just doesn’t want to say anything! Either way, I’m rocking the same outfit because it’s easier. It’s less stressful. And instead of doing laundry every night this week, I’ve soaked my toosh in the bathtub and meditated. Much better.

Leave a Reply

