9 Ways to be Fabulously, Thankfully, Awesomely Unemployed

UNEMPLOYEDI was laid off a few months ago so I am now joining the rest of so many people in being unemployed. I was in shock at first. That shock turned into shame. Then it manifested into complete and utter excitement!

I know this seems crazy and off-color, but it’s my one chance to embrace not being in the daily grind of madness that working full-time had over me.

For years I have lusted over living simply. I have been looking for a way out and here it is. It came in the form of the label “unemployed.” If you are not careful, that label can define you. You can take it is a form of shame, of being less of a person, of being a failure or you can use this opportunity to get your life in order and make room for bliss.

It’s been a bumpy ride for the last few months, of course. But there has been so much that has been rattled inside of me.

I want to share a few things that I am able to do now that I no longer work for the man and how this experience is changing my life for the very best. I also want to touch on a few of the basics that I recommend in the very beginning.

1. Remain Calm: Please try not to freak out. Take a few breaths and know that you are strong and that your life will not immediately crumble. In fact, pack up your things from that crummy job and stop by and have a margi on the way home! You have a vacation day tomorrow! You don’t have to wait months on end to get a break. You have one starting now. Enjoy it.

2. Assistance: Yes. Fill out your unemployment/government aid assistance. This can be frustrating, but very helpful for a while.

3. Simplify Your Life: Slowly, you will recognize just how much you don’t really need. I realized that although I like getting mani/pedi’s, I was just using this as an opportunity to unwind from work. I no longer need those perks because, well, I am not unwinding from work. You can do useful things around the house and with yourself that you have been putting off because all your energy was being spent working:

4. Try Something New: Create the blog you have always wanted. Open an etsy shop. Sell unused items on eBay. Find nooks around your hometown that you have never had time to explore. I have never been happier writing here on Mrs. Minimalist and creating designs at my etsy shop, CharlisWeb.

5. Reinvent Yourself: This is the process I am currently spending the most time on. I want to be the person that I know I can be. I want to live simply. I want to be full of love. I want to be light. I want to make my bed every morning. I want to breathe easy. I want to rest.

6. Spiff Up Your Resume: My goal is to make a living helping others find their true passion and live a simple life and also continue graphic design on my etsy shop because I really do love doing this! But, I also spiffed up my resume and added my working skills because I know that I may one day need to go back to work. Here’s my new fancy resume:

ResumeWord

7. Relax in Your PJ’s for a While: Ease into your mornings. Embrace the cotton pants. Slum around for a bit. Relax.

8. Exercise: I have started taking my daughter on stroller rides around our town. We have seen local friends I haven’t seen in decades just by being out and about. I enjoy the fresh daylight {otherwise only seen through a tiny window at work from the inside}. I love my muscles and bones getting stronger. I sleep better. I have time to do this now. I intend on enjoying it.

9. Let go of Fear: This is a tough one because bills still have to be paid. But, even still fear won’t do us any good here. I know that my life will be taken care of. I am no longer scared about losing my stuff or doing without. I have made known what makes me happy: time with my daughter, a clean house, a homecooked meal, strolling through the neighborhood during daylight, breathing slow, plenty of rest, losing consumerism attitude, no longer competing with others, making my own schedule, writing, and designing for my etsy shop.

These are just a few things to be fabulously, thankfully, awesomely unemployed! What better time to simplify and enjoy yourself. I know that major changes are happening in my life and I am so very thankful. I never thought I would say that if I was ever unemployed, but here I am…so blessed and so thankful.

***

Do you like my resume? Visit my etsy shop at CharlisWeb and let me help you! I can set up a custom listing and help you design a fabulous, breathtaking, one-of-a-kind resume and also help you with wording. Even if you are like me and don’t want to return to work, it still feels so good to have a good, solid, unique resume on standby! Let me help. It is my passion to make sure we all make it, and make it well and happy on this earth.

***

I would love to hear how you are fabulously unemployed in the comments!

One thought on “9 Ways to be Fabulously, Thankfully, Awesomely Unemployed

Leave a Reply

